View Full Version : Dreaded spins

inlovewithskati
11-30-2008, 08:37 PM
Spins - Just comparing notes:

I have been skating for 15 years. Spins seem to get better for awhile-then get worse. I still cannot do very good one foot spins except on occasion.
I think it might be partly psychological.
Has anyone else out there ever had this experience?

I take lots of private lessons and have gotten pretty good at some other things in skating.

I am an adult skater

Thanks!!

dbny
11-30-2008, 09:26 PM
Everything that I've had real trouble with has been in my head. I've put off attacking spins for years because I've been scared of them. I recently discovered that I'm a CW spinner, not CCW, which is what I'd been doing. Since that discovery, I've been pushing myself more and it's paying off. Have you tried doing a one foot spin 10 times every time you skate? That's how I crack the whip on myself. The first time I did it with one foot spins, it took me until spin #7 to get a decent one. The next day, I got a good spin on #4, and by the end of the week (lesson time), I got a good spin the first time. Of course, I've just spent a week not skating and pigging out, so I expect to be pretty much starting over :frus:.

flo
11-30-2008, 09:36 PM
Don't worry about it, they will come. I had a layback before a decent scratch.

katz in boots
12-01-2008, 01:32 AM
Spins are my "bete noir". I am a jumper, and struggle to get my spins to the same level as jumps. Like you, my spins will come good for a while, but if I miss so much as one session (and you do, through illness, work, unexpected events) they go backwards.

This means that on any given day I may not be able to do a decent stork spin, let alone a scratch, but another day they rock. Same with all my spins, I never know how they'll be.

Jumps, on the other hand, do go up & down, but nowhere near as drastically. I wonder if it's the same for you?

(also an adult skater)

momsk8er
12-01-2008, 08:53 AM