View Full Version : core exercises..what do you do?

herniated
09-30-2008, 04:52 PM
Hi all!
As most of you know from my name, I have back problems and I am sick of it!! My PT advised me to strengthen my core muscles more. BTW over the past couple of years my core/abdominals have been compromised. I had a hernia for years and had it repaired this past December. So, I haven't worked out my abs hard for a long time. She (pt) said my joints are very flexible and that is contributing to my back going 'out'.

Now.. I am a personal trainer but I am interested in learning new ab/core exercises. She has me doing mostly static exercises for now like the 'plank'. The advanced and beginner positions. And not doing a crunch but raising the upper body(shoulders) off the floor and holding it. I also have scar tissue by the hernia repair that she is working on. Thank God.

So, what do you guys do? BTW... I am back on the ice, finally.

coskater64
09-30-2008, 06:15 PM
I do reformer pilates, not mat pilates, 2-3 x a week, I have a reformer in my basement and a cadillac. I also do pointe work and ballet 2x a week, between these two things I stabilize my core pretty well. I use hinged boots which take noticeable strength in the ankles and tremendous core strength when landing jumps with speed and flow. You just need to be consistent, find a good video and if at all possible take a class at a reputable pilates studio. Mat will work as well as reformer but is not as fun. IMHO

:halo::halo:

patatty
09-30-2008, 06:27 PM