View Full Version : Testing Ice Dance - What are they Looking For?

katz in boots
08-30-2008, 03:47 AM
Where I live we only get to do ISA (Australian) tests when a judge is over here from interstate to judge a competition. I was under the impression that there wouldn't be one this time, but I heard today that there will be. That means I will be attempting the Elementary 1 Dance test in 5 weeks 8O

Dutch Waltz & Canasta Tango are the dances. I know the steps, and coach says I'm getting better at dancing them with her. Just wondering what are the main things judges look for in dance tests.

Speed & flow (Like you can do that on a 1/4 size rink ;) ), posture, no toe-picking, pointed toes, extension, not taking partner's feet out from under them. I am pretty new to ice dance, so am not sure what else is important to keep in mind.

vesperholly
08-30-2008, 05:36 AM
The first level of dances (Dutch Waltz, Canasta Tango and Rhythm Blues in the US) are typically encouragement dances. Do the correct steps, mostly on-time and generally recognizable edges, and you'll be fine.

jskater49
08-30-2008, 06:52 AM
Timing and edges.

Unfortunately when I do one of those well, I tend to loose the other!

j

sk8tmum
08-30-2008, 06:55 AM
Carriage too ... although it might not be one of the "official" need to pass look fors at this level: they want to see you with good posture, head up, not "breaking" at the waist. It's a hard habit to break if you start falling into the bad posture trap, and, you'll definitely need to have good posture in the later dances.

Mrs Redboots
08-30-2008, 07:18 AM
And while, again at this level, it's not a requirement, if you can show that they are two different dances, that will help, too. For the tango, make sure you pause your leg at each end of the swing rolls, lots of knee action, and turn your head sharply as you change lobes. For the waltz, the leg and head action should be continuous, and the whole dance more flowy and lilty.