View Full Version : I am now a junior coach :D

ibreakhearts66
07-27-2008, 03:28 AM
Yep yep. It all happened MUCH faster than I could have even hoped for. I posted here a ways back asking about how to get started. Well, I talked to the skating school director and she said that I would start as an assistant. She said she would fast-track me to coaching but that it would still take some months. Well, I started assisting last saturday (the 19th?). Lucky for me, there was a miscommunication between coaches today, so there was a class left without a teacher. The director asked me to jump in. It was an ISI Beta class. My friend was assisting me, and afterwards I asked how I did (paranoid that I was terrible). She said I did great and thought they should just make me a coach already. I laughed. After I assisted a third class (tots...too cute), the director told me to make sure I got paid for the class I taught myself. Next thing I know, she's showing me everything, telling me she'll get me a key to the pros room and asking if I want to teach a class next semester!!!!! I'm starting as a junior coach (which I think means I don't do privates?). But I'm HOPING to move up to "pro" status within 6 mos or so.

On a semi-side note, I'm also starting ice dancing lessons. As I mentioned before, I'm way behind on my tests (testing preliminary on Wednesday). I know I need to test, and moves are my weakness, so ice dancing will help a ton. Plus, if I stick with ice dancing, I'll be more well-rounded!

Wow. I used a lot of exclamations points. I guess I'm excited.

katz in boots
07-27-2008, 04:00 AM
That's great news, no wonder you're excited. Great to be accepted like that so quickly.

Funny, I'm going down a similar track at the moment, though it's going to be more complicated for me. I'll tell you about it, so you know why I'm jealous of your experience.