View Full Version : ankle pain

kimberley801
07-09-2008, 12:22 AM
I've gradually developed some really annoying ankle pain in the past few weeks, likely related to skating. It's located on the outer part of my left leg, above the ankle bone, where the top of the boot is. It is very achy and hurts more when pressure is applied, but there is no redness, swelling, or even bruising. It feels like I should have a large bruise there, but there's nothing, other than old scars from when my boot tongue dug into my skin. Icing the area does help some. I am a CCW skater and currently working on waltz jumps, toe-loop, and salchow. I have not added any new elements for the past two months.

Any idea what could be causing this? Would Bunga pads help? If so, which ones?

fsk8r
07-09-2008, 12:59 AM
I'm not a doctor and don't really know much about anything medical, but wondered whether you've considered tendonitis? I've had it in my hand and wrist and that feels like a bruise or sprain (lots of pain) is helped by ice and rest, but otherwise can't really be bandaged up to improve things as it's below the surface.
I have heard of other skaters having tendonitis around the achilles and I would think that it's possible to get it in other tendons around the ankle joint.
You probably ought to do visit the doctor if you're really worried about it and get a diagnosis as at least then you know what you're dealing with.
Hope it gets better soon.

doubletoe
07-09-2008, 01:42 PM
For starters, you should definitely be wearing gel ankle sleeves (Bunga, Silipos or other comparable brand). In addition, if the pain is right where the top of the boot is, I would use one of the Bunga gel disks under the top of the ankle sleeve right there.

Skating Jessica
07-09-2008, 01:59 PM