View Full Version : Skating Blues

antmanb
07-01-2008, 07:02 AM
Not the dancing variety but the down in the dumps blues!

Just wanted to hear people's stories about being so down on their skating that they consider giving up.

I have been skating now for maybe close to 6 years. I don't have much time to give it as i can only make one session a week. I have in that 5 years (apart from holidays) attended those sessions religiously. A couple or three years ago i was landing waltz jump, toe-loop, salchow and loop, and cheating a flip and flutz and working on axels (not even close but good off ice) pretty good forward upright, with alternating good camels and sit spins (but never both in one session). In the last couple of years my skating seems to have gone backwards. I can't land a loop for love nor money and flip and flutz have gone. Spins are still the same with no sign of a backspin in sight. I have even less time to give it and after last week's awful session (topping a series of bad sessions) i got to the point of thinking it's time to stop throwing good money after bad.

I've left it nearly a week and am still unsure whether to continue. So i was just wondering have any of you gotten to this stage and if so what have you done to overcome it?

Thanks for listening!

Ant

momsk8er
07-01-2008, 08:57 AM
I don't know if I have much encouragement to give, but I can share your pain. It seems like I just make progress, and then I need to miss a few days at the rink and a few days at the gym, and I am back to square one. Frankly, I'm frustrated too. Every week my spin goes away, and it takes me one or two sessions to get it back. I learn a loop jump, and I miss 3 days of skating, and I can't do it anymore. It is really frustrating.