View Full Version : New boots/blades

sk8tegirl06
06-20-2008, 10:20 AM
I'm finally to the point of needing new boots and possibly blades. I skate in Risport, so I'm definitely going up to RF3 Super boots. But I guess my question is whether to upgrade my blades at the same time? Is it difficult to get used to 2 changes at the same time? I have considered Ultima Legacy blades. I'm looking for something to last a long time. I am currently working on making my loop and flip consistent. I'm an older beginner (20) so I need something supportive. Since I'm older, my coaches are kind of letting me take the lead on the blade issue. Thanks!

techskater
06-20-2008, 08:19 PM
A new blade (not sharpened) that's the same as the old skates will feel totally different anyway, so bite the bullet and get used to both at the same time. Just my $0.02

Thin-Ice
06-23-2008, 03:06 AM
I'd agree with techskater.. especially since you probably won't be buying a new blade with HUGE toepicks.

A few years ago, I went up two boot strengths (which turned out to be too much boot for me) and changed from MK Pros to Gold Star blades.. I competed in the new boots at AN about 3 weeks later and it was fine. I was skating about 6 hours a week at that point... which helped the boot break-in and the getting used to the new blades. My "hardest part" getting used to the blades was finding the "sweet spot" for spins... so I took an extra lesson that week, so my coach could help me get everything in the correct position.

Good luck!

Sessy
06-23-2008, 03:43 AM