View Full Version : Skating with scoliosis

Desrosiers
06-13-2008, 11:47 AM
Just in case anyone's wondering, scoliosis is the abnormal curvature and/or rotation of the spine.

Anyway, is it a bad idea? My curvature is 21 degrees, so it's not too bad. I've got an image (http://img291.imageshack.us/my.php?image=geneticinferioritywu8.jpg) if anyone wants to see (please ignore the editing, haha...).

I got the x-ray taken last year when I was 17, so I'm 18 now, and the doctor said that it shouldn't get any worse because my bones have already matured. Back then, I hadn't started skating. Right now, I'm still a beginner, and I haven't learnt any jumps, but I do want to one day.

However, what I have been doing is stretching, and particularly with the Biellmann, I'm wondering if it will make my back worse. In general, if I try to gain any back flexibility, will it cost me? I guess I'm wondering if anyone is in the same situation as me. This summer, I plan to go back and get another x-ray done to see if my scoliosis has progressed further now that I've started skating and stretching, but until then, I'd just like to hear anyone's opinion.

Thanks. :]

RachelSk8er
06-13-2008, 12:16 PM
Every case is different, but plenty of skaters have some form of scoliosis. I've been skating my entire life and didn't even know I had it until about three years ago (I was 24 at the time) when I had a chest x-ray for bronchitis. No clue how long I've had it, either. I don't even know my degree of curvature, mine is in my upper back and it's not bad, but it did explain some of the back pain I've always had! One of my shoulders is a tad higher than the other but I never noticed in the mirror becauase I either correct that in the way I stand, or it's just not that noticable.