View Full Version : Feeling discouraged--coach whining...(long)

backspin
09-30-2002, 11:00 PM
I'm feeling very unappreciated tonight. I just need to rant for a minute.

I've been coaching for about 4 years. I started out just helping w/ a group dance class once a week. Then the main teacher couldn't do it anymore, so they asked if I would take it over. After teaching the group class for awhile, people started asking me for private lessons. So I started taking on private students. Now I have 6 private students & I teach 2 group classes a week.

Since ice time around here is very limited, I have virtually given up all my practice time to make time for my students to have lessons. I try to skate 1/2 hour on one public session a week & I get 1/2 hour on one other session when I only have one lesson to teach.

Today, I drove an hour each way & paid $69.00 to take a one hour lesson w/ my ice dance coach (whom I haven't had a lesson with in a few years due to lack of money). It was a "coaching lesson", to go through partnering of some of the lower level dances my students are working on, & focus on some basic things to give me more ideas to further my students' skating. I can't tell you how I miss skating "for real", & how I wanted to bag the basics and skate with him! But I stuck to what I needed to do in my capacity as a coach.

Then, I had to teach tonight on a session that's 1 1/2 hours. I had three students on it before, but one just switched to a different day. Hooray, another 1/2 hour I get to skate! I've been skating the last part of the session--BUT, since my students are often a few minutes late & also like to have a few minutes to warm up before their lessons, that time was getting to be more like 15 minutes. So today I told one of my students that I was going to skate the 1st 1/2 hour, then take them through their lessons, hence they get their warmup & I don't lose my precious skating time. Everyone's happy, right? NO!