View Full Version : Time off

sk8parent
04-24-2008, 09:35 PM
Do all skaters take time off?
When back on the ice do the skaters forget many things they have learned?

Clarice
04-24-2008, 09:58 PM
Define what you mean by "time off".

My daughter and I always take one day a week off, and will miss an entire week here and there if we're on vacation. Neither one of us has ever forgotten anything, although it might take a day or two to feel back to normal. We've never taken any extended time off, but many rinks close down in the summer months, and those skaters seem to manage. I don't know any highly competitive skaters who take that much time off, though, unless they have to because of injury.

sk8parent
04-24-2008, 11:24 PM
I'm not very good at explaining myself am I?
Just wondering in general how much time people out there take off each year. I heard that if skaters don't get off the ice for at least 4 weeks out of the year they can burn out especially children.

twokidsskatemom
04-25-2008, 02:34 AM
I would guess this is a every skater is different answer.
My skaters take a few days off after a comp, a few days off after a test.Even when they come back after a comp, its different. More fun skating, not so serious.
That said, I dont think we have ever taken off 4 weeks unless you count her first summer when she was 4. They both want to come back after a few days, even when I want the break !I dont think we have ever even skipped a whole week, just maybe skated two days that week.They so far after 5 years have no burnout.
I think time off is fine but with a very competive skater harder to do.
8-)

Kim to the Max
04-25-2008, 06:00 AM
For me personally, my "breaks" from skating generally fall around different holidays when we don't have ice and when I need to do things for work...

I am also one who, after a test session I generally have more "fun" when I skate...because I get to work on the things that I put to the side while I focused on the test....