View Full Version : I've got a PROGRAM!!

Laura H
04-21-2008, 09:03 PM
LOL . . . I did it . . I signed up to do a solo in the spring show. So yeah, I've never done a solo before, and I may well be the only adult participating 8O but I'm tired of just sitting in the audience and watching the kids during the shows . . . so I signed up!! (Plus, just doing elements all the time gets kinda boring!). My music (one of many GREAT suggestions that I got from posting a plea here) is "Boogie Shoes" (K.C. & the Sunshine Band) and we finally got everything choreographed tonight. And I'm just ridiculously tickled to finally have my own "program" . . . had so much fun tonight doing the run-throughs. The music is really working out well, it's the perfect speed, has a great beat, and I can just relax and take my time doing the elements.

Highlights of the lesson tonight . . .

(coach) "OK, now you're going to need another spin towards the end"
(Me) "But . . . I only HAVE one spin!" (the forward upright . . . so, yeah, I'm doing it twice . . .who knows, they probably will look different anyway!!).

(me) "wait . . I'm supposed to be doing a TOELOOP there? I was doing a half flip!!" (is it really impossible to distinguish between my half flip and my toeloop? let's just hope she was looking the other way on my 1st runthrough).

(me) "OK, now after I do the spin and I'm totally disoriented, which way am I supposed to be looking and what do I do then?" :oops:

(the end result) "OK . . . spin . . . dance . . . (until I get reoriented) . . . head for the blue line . . ."

(coach) "OK, now do the spin now . . . HEY! that was actually a pretty good spin!" (hey!! it does happen from time to time!). :halo: