View Full Version : new blades :D :D :D

ibreakhearts66
04-18-2008, 12:19 AM
finally bit the bullet and bought new blades
i've been skating in coronation aces for like 4 years. the ones i was using were slightly too short and most certainly too "low" for my level
i had been planning on getting ultima freestyles because a coach was going to give them to me at cost, but it seemed that I was never going to get them (we spoke in october).

I decided on paramount (http://www.paramountskates.com/ourblades.php)420s. I drove out to Anaheim to get them and have them mounted. My dad was giving me a hard time, asking me why I couldn't get them closer to home. I kept telling him that there was only one place that was close that stocked them, but I didn't trust them to mount my blades. He didn't believe my until I handed my skates over to the guy at USA skates who said "Wow, whoever mounted these did not do a very good job. He used the wrong screws for one..."

I LOVE these blades. I was really really nervous about switching, mostly because of the rocker (switching from a 7' to an 8'). well, that was not a problem at all. My coronation aces were so old that they are actually flatter than my new ones.

One of the major selling points of these blades is their lightness. I didn't really believe that the blades could make that much of a difference in the weight. Boy was I wrong! I went to do a spiral, and it was like my leg flew up! It felt like I wasn't even wearing skates!

I was able to jump and spin in them right away. It took me a few times to actually try an axel (i was terrified of catching my toe-pick), but when I did, it flew. It also took a bit for me to orient myself properly to do a good double loop, but again, once I DID the jump, it flew). I figured I wasn't going to be able to spin (although now I realize that there difference in the two blades when it comes to rockers was insignificant), but those were fine too. Someone even commented on how fast my spins were.