View Full Version : Paying Your Coach

icemom60
04-09-2008, 02:01 PM
A question for all the coaches out there. Is there a way to pay your coach without it feeling just a little bit awkward?

My son has three different coaches. Whenever I pay them there's this brief awkward moment when I hand them their check. I sense that the moment is awkward for them as well. They generally take the check and quickly put it in their pocket. I've noticed this with all of them and experienced this feeling with a past coach as well so I wondering if there's a better way to do this.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and suggestions.

AshBugg44
04-09-2008, 02:10 PM
Okay AS a coach, I agree that the moment of handing over the money is sometimes kind of awkward! I always tell them thank you and make a bit of conversation about the lesson so that I don't feel like I'm just taking their money and running. ;)

Debbie S
04-09-2008, 02:10 PM
Hmmm, I pay my coach pretty much the same way - hand her the check, she thanks me, puts it in her jacket pocket, and that's that. It doesn't seem awkward to me. They provided a service, you paid for it, and life goes on. I also thank my coach after each lesson (but since she bills monthly, I only pay her once a month).

Skittl1321
04-09-2008, 02:13 PM
I don't know why you would feel ackward. You are paying for a service rendered. You pay for things like this all the time.

Maybe some suggestions: