View Full Version : How old were you when you first started helping your coach with the Learn to Skate?

FSWer
03-22-2008, 08:09 PM
Say,I hope it's ok to ask this on a board. I hope I'm not getting personal. But how old were you when you first started helping your coach with the Learn to Skate Basic Skills Program? BTW. I have a question. How do you get to help with a Learn to Skate Program as a skater? I mean....do you need to be a curtain level? Do you need to pass a test? Do you need to be able to do curtain moves? What constatutes (sorry,I know that's wrong) as becoming a Learn to Skate helper? Thanks.

Skittl1321
03-22-2008, 08:23 PM
I was 25 when I started helping and had been skating for around 1 year. I had passed Basic 8 by that time.

I started helping with snowplow sam- mostly because I was a preschool teacher at the time and really liked working with little kids. They needed an extra hand to pick people up! I also started working with adults, usually on my own, if the adult was able to stand on their own (if they needed support I didn't do it yet) our adult classes often only have 1 skater though. The skate director watched my first class and then told me I was good to go. I think I had the advantage of learning as an adult because I remembered HOW the very first few things were taught- often the really good teenagers have no idea HOW they learned those first few steps and take awhile to learn how to teach them.

Kim to the Max
03-22-2008, 08:36 PM