View Full Version : Coach who wont do competition

littlekateskate
01-03-2008, 07:12 AM
Hey there.. just a quick question. We have our "local" competition at our rink coming up in a few months. Its at our actual rink. But our coach doesnt do it.

For the very young skaters these are way more ideal but if the coach doesnt do it it seems ridiculous since its our rinks. We dont have to drive anywhere. My daughter already has her routines.

Is it obsene to ask for her to sign off. I know its been discussed before, but I never imagined a coach who didnt take her kids to their own rinks comps.

Can I pay or ask for another coach to watch my daughter for her that day getting her off and on the ice? Can I do it?

Sparkey
01-03-2008, 08:49 AM
Don't do it yourself! Baaaaaaad idea!

SynchroSk8r114
01-03-2008, 09:05 AM
I agree that coaching your own kid, or at least putting her on and off the ice, is a bad idea. As a coach, I've seen parents do this and I finally had to put my foot down and say no more. It's distracting to the child, especially if the parent is high strung and has other children with them or skating. I've seen parents blatantly stand down by the ice right in front of a sign that read "Skaters and Coaches ONLY!" completely oblivious to this. Having those extra bodies, in addition to the coaches and skaters down there, only complicates things and adds to the chaos of an often stressful day. Your child will appreciate more if you can support her from the stands.

As for your coach not going: it seems a bit odd to me. What is the reasoning behind this? Is there a scheduling conflict? A personal conflict with someone at the rink? I'm curious because if I was a parent, I think the answer would affect how I feel about this.