View Full Version : Exiting spins in a certain direction

vesperholly
12-17-2007, 03:48 AM
Does anyone else have problems exiting spins going in a specific direction? In practice, I usually just end a spin when I lose steam or can feel my balance shifting. But when I'm doing choreography for a program, I want to exit facing one direction or the other, so I can continue on with the steps and set up the next element properly. I spin pretty fast and it's hard to see landmarks, and my eyes don't focus quickly on exiting a spin.

Tips anyone?

Rusty Blades
12-17-2007, 04:44 AM
I have been working on upright spins for a few months now and it is only recently that I am gaining more control in the spin (being able to correct if the spin starts to get off centre). Although I don't spin very fast, I can't landmark either (yet) but I am getting better at being able to extend or shorten the last revolution to get closer to where I want to exit. Once you start to open up the spin, you should be able to reacquire your landmark.

Morgail
12-17-2007, 09:20 AM
I have a hard time with this too. I can never seem to exit in the direction I need to in a program. It takes a couple seconds for my eyes to focus and I end up adding in some crossovers to get through that and to get to where I need to be. I've tried to slow down the last few revolutions in order to exit in the right spot, but then I lose the pacing with my music and end up trying to catch up.

Isk8NYC
12-17-2007, 09:36 AM
It's important to pick a BIG, colorful landmark and look at it before your program. For example, "Zamboni door" isn't enough - white is white - you have find something major to scan for that doesn't require focus. For example, the flags at one end of the rink, or the bathrooms - think big.