View Full Version : How far might the average adult skater go?

Tiara
12-10-2007, 10:28 PM
Hi Everyone!

I was just sitting here wondering. For an adult (20ish) starting skating, with some natural athletic ability and a drive to suceed.....How far (level wise) might they be able to go? I've heard that the average child who skates can usually achieve their axel and some doubles, and reach a pretty high level.

Is this also true for a person starting as an adult? How fast might the "average" adult progress through the levels? I am a total beginner (begining 2 level) and I am curious if a person like me can get to a highish level or if it takes a really special person to be able to learn to skate well. I want to hear some experiences about how the average excelleration through the levels goes.

Thanks for the input!! :yum:

dbny
12-10-2007, 11:18 PM
IMO, if you do have some athletic ability, some flexibility, and not too much fear of falling or injury, you are starting young enough to become quite an accomplished skater with axels and doubles. Body type also matters: shorter and thinner makes freestyle easier. You also have to be lucky enough to avoid significant injury*, to have the money and to have the time to put in the required hours of practice and private lessons.

*Injuries that keep you from returning to skating when healed.

Tiara
12-11-2007, 12:37 AM
Well, I am definelty athletic, but.....NOT very flexible. Since I have done alot of biking and weight training, my muscles have become pretty inflexible. Maybe with some training I can gain some flexibility and learn to do the splits and such ;). I am 5'7 and 115-120lbs so very thin for my height....but maybe alittle on the tall side.

Anyone know some good stretches or tactics to get my unflexible body flexible :giveup:

Sessy
12-11-2007, 05:04 AM