View Full Version : buying skates for a beginning skater

mamalovejoy
12-06-2007, 02:11 PM
Hi Everyone,

I'm new. I found your forum because my 8 y/o daughter has asked Santa for ice skates for her x-mas present this year. I am trying to figure out what is the best kind of skate to start off in. I have seen double runner blades on training skates. Are these good/recommended to start with or should I go for a traditional single blade skate for beginners? Please let me know what you think.

Thanks!

Skittl1321
12-06-2007, 02:30 PM
Hi there!

I'm not an expert on ice skates, but I do teach beginners in learn to skate.

First off- DO NOT get double runners. The kids who can (slightly) benefit from these skates are 2-3 year olds. But even those kids don't need them- and many rinks will not allow them. These will not allow your daughter to learn how to skate.

If your rink has a pro-shop start there. They will be more knowledgeable than a sports shop.

The two most popular brands for beginning skaters are Jackson and Reidell.

A good skate for a beginner who is interested in recreational skating, rather than "proper" figure skating is the Jackson Softec. This is a comfortable skate that fits more like a shoe than a traditional skate.

The Reidell Ribbon series are good for begining skaters as are the Jackson Mystique, Artiste and Classique. The skate you choose will depend on how much money you want to spend and the size of your daughter. I would talk to the proshop to get a better understanding of the skates.

If your daughter is already skating (though since you asked about double runners, I don't think she is) the Jackson freestyle is a good skate for a beginning figure skater.

wasabi
12-06-2007, 03:52 PM