View Full Version : Skater size and boot stiffness

R D Lite
12-06-2007, 12:22 AM
Hi everyone--I'm glad I found these forums; I've been giving the search funtion a good workout!

I'm an adult beginner working on basic skills. My skates are entry-level Riedells (a boot-and-blade set with the PVC sole). I bought them because I simply needed something other than rentals to use while I decided whether skating was for me or not. I'm hooked now, and would like to find higher-quality, better-fitting skates now that I'm on the ice 5 or 6 days a week.

I'll be in the Los Angeles area at the end of the month visiting family, and I'm hoping to get fitted while I'm in California. I know just enough about skating at this point to realize how much I don't know, so I'm happy to let someone with more experience guide me. My LTS coaches are helpful to a point--they're reluctant to be too specific in their recommendations, and I get the impression that they frequently run into students who refuse to spend much money on their skates. I'm not rich by any means, but I'm willing to put some money into my skates to ensure that I have skates that will support my feet, help prevent injury, and assist my learning rather than hinder it.

My question for you all is this: I certainly understand that I do not want a boot that is too stiff, especially since I'm not even jumping yet. However, does the size of the skater affect the degree of stiffness an individual should look for in a boot? I'm 5'9" (140 lbs), and the LTS kids loooove to skate up to me at lessons and inform me that I'm "the tallest lady on the ice," LOL. I guess I am wary of getting too much boot, but I have to lace mine as tightly as possible to even manage crossovers without feeling like my ankle is going to roll (not a technique problem, according to my coach).