View Full Version : Big/Unruly Alpha Class - Advice Needed

myste12
11-29-2007, 09:27 PM
As the title says, I have a big and unruly alpha class. This is my first year teaching, and this is the first class I've had a really hard time with. I have 12kids in the class. Half of them are almost passing, and half of them should probably still be in pre-alpha. The class as a whole is not very attentive. A small group of the lower level kids won't do the skills unless I'm one on one with them, and if I'm not watching, they pick on each other constantly. The higher level kids tend to get bored and start skating carelessly. I feel like it's chaos on ice. How do you all cope with big classes where the skill level is drastically different???

Isk8NYC
11-30-2007, 07:14 AM
Have you discussed this with the school coordinator/director?

That's a big class to handle with what is really a three-level gap. It should be split into two groups or a helper should be assigned to supervise the lower-level students in your group.

You also need to lay down the law about paying attention, being nice and working independently. That's a different sort of lesson that kids need to learn and you can teach them.

Another thought: buddy the student up so each student is working with someone else. That should help keep them on track.

SynchroSk8r114
11-30-2007, 07:43 AM