View Full Version : Alternating 3's

momsk8er
11-20-2007, 10:50 AM
Any advice for outside alternating 3's? My coach wants me to learn them, even though they are not on the adult test anymore. I can do the inside fine now, despite my long struggle with the right inside 3 (I'm CW). But the outsides I can't keep checked. I need to turn my back to the center in order to stay checked, and then I can't make the turn to the next foot. This is so frustrating. I've been working on them for 6 months and it doesn't get better.

If my coach just takes my little finger for a second after I do the turn, I'm fine and can do them perfectly. But that little second of extra stability seems essential.

BTW - I have no issues with back edges, mine are strong and steady.

Thoughts anyone?

Thanks!

double3s
11-20-2007, 11:03 AM
The thing that has really helped me with checking/controlling the FO3s for the step forward is to concentrate on keeping the free leg pulled back and up - don't let it start drifting around. Also to remember to stay upright - no breaking at the waist.

The are really hard; I've been working on them for months also!

kayskate
11-20-2007, 11:13 AM
Alt 3s are a really good way to learn control. I assume you are learning them on a hockey line. Are you learning them to test? As I understand 3turns on the hockey line are no longer part of adult testing. There is another pattern that you can see on the USFS web site.

pattern:
http://www.usfigureskating.org/content/adultvideos/Moves%20Diagrams/PreBronze%205.pdf

video:
http://www.usfigureskating.org/content/adultvideos/Videos%20for%20Web/PreBronze%205.wmv

general page w Adult MITF info:
http://www.usfigureskating.org/Programs.asp?id=316

Kay

momsk8er
11-20-2007, 12:18 PM
Thanks, I think maybe breaking at the waist might be an issue with me.

I am not learning them to test, my coach thinks they are good for control, and wants me to master them for that reason.

Isk8NYC
11-20-2007, 12:27 PM