View Full Version : Volunteering at Regionals: Stupid question

Skittl1321
10-04-2007, 01:43 PM
Okay, here's idiot question of the day.
I'm volunteering at regionals. One day I'm announcing, the next day I'm working as a runner.

Does it matter what I wear?

I worked as an ice monitor and did registration for Iowa winter games, and just did Jeans and a T-shirt, but I'm wondering if I need to look nicer since regionals is a "better" competition.

I do know to wear a jacket though :)

jenlyon60
10-04-2007, 02:03 PM
I'd focus on dressing warmly unless you're working registration or something that's not in the actual rink area.

Some volunteers might dress nicer, most will probably wear normal jeans or khakis with a warm top.

techskater
10-04-2007, 04:25 PM
Wear something warm and make sure it's something no one can talk about behind your back. I have some friends who are judges who have interesting shoes and who were talked to by their monitor for their choice of footwear. Yikes!

jterrij
10-05-2007, 08:23 AM
Generally I have found the annoucers to dress more professionally (but be sure to bring a nice warm coat and gloves!). Runners are definitely casual - many kids do running for us. Wear something comfortable because typically you will be running back and forth between the ice, the music table, accounting and the results area. It's an active job but one of my favorites because you do so much moving around. Bring a coat just in case but I never wore mine because I was running so much between ice and lobby that I was warm and never needed my coat or gloves.

SynchroSk8r114
10-05-2007, 08:39 AM