View Full Version : When do you have time?

Muskoka Skater
09-07-2007, 04:22 PM
Hi everybody, the first week of school here as just ended and all my activites are starting up again. I have alot more homework now that I'm an intermediate student (Grade 7) and I have no time to do homework! How do you skaters who are also students able to do all the homework, skate, and other activities? Thanks to anybody who has anwsers to help me!!

Skittl1321
09-07-2007, 04:36 PM
Well, I'm not a student anymore- but having had to balance it all when I was, here are my tips.

First off- stay on top of things. If you have an assignment due at the end of the week, don't wait. Do it early in case anything else pops up. It's no fun to do a big book report the weekend before it's due, but if you have a busy week ahead, that weekend is free time and Thursday night might not be.

Second- take advantage of ALL time. Driving in the car to the rink? Work on homework. Waiting on the zamboni- work on homework. It might be "nerdy" to not hang out and chat with everyone, but if you want to get it done- that's when you do it. I also did my homework on the way to school in the morning on the bus- BUT NEVER do homework due THAT day on the bus, in case you get distracted and don't get it done.

Third- wake up half an hour earlier if you can. Use that time wisely. (I worked better if I woke up, ate really quickly, did my homework and THEN get dressed. If I did everything else first, then I would never get to the homework. BUT if you aren't getting enough sleep already- don't do this. Sleep is so important for young teenagers/kids who are still growing.

Good luck! Many many skaters, dancers, gymnasts, etc have balanced all the practices/rehearsals with school- you can do it!

daisies
09-07-2007, 04:49 PM