View Full Version : Composing Adult Programs

Caris
08-29-2007, 05:24 PM
Hello all :)

As a total novice to skating competition I'm looking at developing my first program and wondered If I could pick your brains. I'm a UK skater and would be entering at the lowest level, single jumps, basic position spins 1:30 music ect. I only take group lessons so am trying my best to construct most of my program myself, but am not sure what to put in it.

I'm fine on my jumps and spins, the choreography part is fine too. I was wondering what people tend to do inbetween the skills. Is it usual to put in combinations of footwork, 3 turns mohawks ect if so what sort of thing am I looking for and how complex?

Also when it comes to spirals what are you allowed to do for the lowest level? I can do what I call a Y scale (leg up to the side) then keeping hold of the leg switch to arabesque. I can do what I think in skating is called a candle stick. Are these recognised moves in the beginner classes?

Any help from people that have done the UK adult competitions would be fantastic, I've seen the list of what is allowed jump/spin wise, but it doesn't really elaborate.

Many many many thanks for helping out a beginner!

jskater49
08-29-2007, 05:39 PM
I'm not in the UK so I can't comment on requirements..but I have a low level 1:30 program and good luck trying to fit in "extra stuff" I have a forward and backward spiral, a waltz jump, one foot spin, half lutz mazurka, half flip, lunge, and waltz-toe loop, then a two foot spin...I barely can finish the program on time--and I'm low on jumps - most people at my level have more jumps. When I get around to learning a salchow and putting that in there, my one little fancy edge arm movement thing is probably going to have to go. There just isn't much time for anything else.

j

Mrs Redboots
08-30-2007, 04:12 AM