View Full Version : lots of synchro questions

ibreakhearts66
08-15-2007, 11:30 PM
ok guys. i am looking to a whole new WORLD of skating. i have decided that i want to do synchro in college. i have NO synchro experience, and will not be able to have any experience with a team until college as there are none near me (i like in so-cal, but there are only a couple of rinks that i can reach, and none of them have teams).

where do i start? seriously.

i know i have to get MIF tested. im hoping to get up to my novice moves tested (but i got a ways to go, i've only tested pre-pre, but i do know the prelim, pre-juv, juv, and some intermediate moves).

what else do i need to do? walk me through this...im clueless!

littlerain
08-16-2007, 01:27 AM
This recent thread might help - http://www.skatingforums.com/showthread.php?t=24215&highlight=synchro

You can probably message someone who posted on that thread for more specific questions you might have...

Hope this helped :)

Thin-Ice
08-16-2007, 03:33 AM
Different teams have different standards for what they require to be on a team. Since synchro is not going to be the ONLY reason you choose a specific school, where in the country do you want to go to school and what do you want to study? If you'd been doing synchro since a much younger age, it's likely Synchro would have been a major part of your life and would remain a major part of your life and you might be limiting yourself to schools like Miami of Ohio or Western Michigan. But since you're starting later, it's not likely to be as important to you as to someone who has skated synchro since they were very young.

That may mean you are more open to skating on a team that is not quite as competitive and will have less intense standards and try-outs as the top teams. That will give you more options on which teams you could skate with... and what you need to do to prepare to skate synchro.