View Full Version : Help to stop on the ice!

AndreaUK
04-25-2006, 04:00 PM
Hi

This may sound like a really stupid question and I appologise for asking it. I am an adult beginner and have recently sustained a really bad concussion which has totally knocked my confidence. I was skating for leisure 4 weeks ago and woke up in a freezing cold puddle on the ice. I was only cleared to return to normal activities this week, so I decided to go skating again.

After some time I regained some confidence and learned how to balance again on brand new skates but I am having problems stopping.

Instead of just running out of momentum and skating around in a circle until I stop I would like to be able to use the snow plough stop.

I realise that you have to turn in your left foot so that it is slightly pigeon toed but I do not know where I am supposed to shift my weight on the blades.

Do i shift my weight to the left skating leg and just gently trail the stopping foot across the ice, or do i lean my weight onto the foot that is turned in to stop?

I appologise again for posting such a basic question.

Andrea UK

beachbabe
04-25-2006, 04:06 PM
well, the troublke stopping could be from a super sharp balde. You can run the blade on wood to make it a little duller.

To do that stop you shift your weight away from the leg you are pushing out and gently push out. Do it in place first then when you egt comfortable you can push it out harder.

Its not really a very good stop, I use ther t-stop alot because i think it looks nice and one foot stops for programmes. Once you learn more advanced skills you prolly won't use the snowplow stop at all so dont focus on it too much.

garyc254
04-25-2006, 04:08 PM
Snow plow stops are done with both toes turned inward. The weight is balanced evenly on the inside edge of both blades.

There is no trailing foot.