View Full Version : Dutch waltz and other Newbie dance questions

Scarlett
07-31-2007, 06:35 AM
Hello all,

I'm new to dance and have a couple of dance related questions:

1. The dutch waltz: I run out of room in the rink. How do you keep the end pattern in the end of the rink? I can't seem to keep the progressive/swing roll/step/step in the end...there are those pesky walls that appear at a high rate of speed. Is there a trick?

2. Practice: How on earth do you practice a dance on a crowded freestyle session? Do you practice on public sessions or moves sessions? It is bad enough being a CW skater on a crowded session but this is ridiculous.

3. Progressives vs. crossovers: I just don't see the difference. Is it just a timing thing?

Mrs Redboots
07-31-2007, 07:26 AM
1) Deeper edges. Make sure that the progressive run brings you right round so that you're facing up the rink as you push off into the swing roll, which then comes right round back again.

2) With difficulty, but it can be done! You get used to dodging.

3) For a crossover, you pick up your outside foot and put it down over your inside foot, which then rocks over and lifts off. For a progressive, or run, it goes down just ahead of it, and the inside foot then pushes underneath to lift off. The difference, my first coach once said, is about two inches!

jskater49
07-31-2007, 07:46 AM
Mrs. Redboots pretty much covered it. -- you really do have to have good edges to get around the corner - when changing feet, I found it helpful to think about rebending even before the next step - the knee bend is key to the edges.

A good excersize for progressives are swizzle grapevines - push your feet out like a swizzle and then, keeping your feet on the ice, cross your feet and then uncross them, alternativing right over left, then left over right. Around here, they are not so picky at the lower levels about progressives, but it's good to work on it now, make sure at least you have a good underpush.

j

phoenix