View Full Version : Skating in NYC?

littlerain
07-08-2007, 08:14 PM
I'm not sure if this is the right place to post, but I'm wondering how many of you skate in NYC? (I'm an NYU student, skating at home for the summer, and I'd like to continue skating during the school year.) I will probably end up taking lessons at chelsea piers... What's the skating program like there? Also... does anyone know any coaches? Ideally, I'd like to do some private lessons as well, if I can afford it (I'm assuming the rate is even higher in New York?)

Thanks in advance for your responses! :-)
Joyce

Isk8NYC
07-09-2007, 07:49 AM
If you mean Manhattan, yes everything is more expensive. Look into the Columbia University Figure Skating Club - sunjoy (board member) skates with them regularly. They welcome any college student, regardless of their college. Central Park's Lasker and Wollman rinks are their home court, but I'm not sure if they rent ice or skate at public/freestyle sessions.

A lot of skaters come out of Chelsea Piers and they seem to have a good staff of coaches. TimDavid used to skate there occasionally, maybe he'll chime in with some info.

If you go to www.arenamaps.com (http://www.arenamaps.com), you can search for rinks.

TimDavidSkate
07-09-2007, 07:52 AM
Extremely expensive 8O If you will be skating regularly, you might as well buy the 50 minute - 10 pack for $180
I never liked skating there, but sometimes I dont have a choice during competition time :giveup:

The lessons per 1/2 hr ranges from $39 to $60 :roll:

Let me know if you are in the city already, sometimes my friends and I skate somewhere else where is cheaper...
We go to New Roc City for a 7:00 pm to 8:30 (Mondays or Wednesdays) for only $12... And at Nyack-Pallisades Mall (Saturdays) - 9:30 am to 11:30 for $16 ...

liz_on_ice
07-09-2007, 10:22 AM
Yup, Chelsea is expensive but if you don't have a car it is the only game in