View Full Version : Practice Ice for Competition-Value

DallasSkater
07-06-2007, 07:16 AM
My first competition is just 2 weeks away. Since I am a newbie to competitions, I am wondering about practice ice that is sold at a premium by the host rink. It appears that it will not be available on the day I would actually compete due to both surfaces are needed for the actual event! It is being offered at 3 times the typical rate of freestyle ice at this particular rink and likely 2 days before my actual performance. I already am familiar with the host rink and skate there at least 2-3 times per week. But I would not have access to the rink that week if I do not purchase practice ice.

Is it worth doing their ice for some reason? Am I missing an important reason due to my inexperience? How do you prepare the day of your competition? What am I missing? My current plan is to skate at another rink the day of the competition for a gentle warm up and then just be left with the 6 minute warm up when I get there. I just cannot see why the practice ice is so premium and why so many would not do what I am thinking I need to do.

Any other tips from experienced competitors will certainly be appreciated...Thanks!

jskater49
07-06-2007, 07:25 AM
I personally have never felt the need to skate on the particular ice I will comepte on. I have lots of other things that freak me out - but not that - nor do I have any trouble orienting myself and the direction of my program.
Other people are different and find skating on the actual ice to be an advantage. The thing is, you don't know how it is with you yet. BUT, I have been to plenty of competitions where you paid good money to skate on a different rink for practice than actual competition so I think it's good to not get so dependent on being on that actual ice.