View Full Version : Starting crossovers question

Sessy
06-27-2007, 11:02 AM
Okay so I can do the crossovers pretty well. I was already getting told I had decent crossovers for somebody who skated only a year, but having practiced them on roller skates a LOT these past 2 months, they've definitely improved. I'm getting a lot of push...

... At least, after the first few strokes I am. To start from standstill is a nightmare! I just end up on my toepicks and I can't get away any better than I could when I just started learning them. And yeah I know you can push off non-crossover first once or twice, but that's more like five, eight times with me before I can do the crossovers the way I CAN do them. It's almost like a vicious circle: I somehow need the speed to get the rip off the edges and with it, the push.

And of course that won't do, the first few strokes are the most important ones, you might not even get many more than those!

So my question is, how do you START your crossovers well, and fast?

Rusty Blades
06-27-2007, 11:18 AM
I start with my inside foot as my gliding foot (whichever is to the inside of the circle). The other foot goes about 90 degrees to the gliding foot, one good solid PUSH, and then the outside foot comes over the gliding foot for the first cross-over. That can be done really QUICK and you should have all the speed you can handle by about the third cross-over.

Sessy
06-27-2007, 11:26 AM
So you basically push not to the side like normally during the back crossovers, but like forwards? Pigeon-toeing the foot?

Rusty Blades
06-27-2007, 01:14 PM