View Full Version : Changing Coaches

icemom60
06-27-2007, 10:02 AM
I'm still pretty new to the skating world and need some advice on the right way to change coaches.

My DD has been with a coach for the past year and I've noticed that they really aren't meshing too well these days and I'd like to make a coaching change.

I'm not sure of the protocol to follow. Do I find a new coach first and then let the current coach go, or do I let the current coach go and then start the search for a new one?

I just want to do it the right way.

Thanks for your help.

chantelly
06-27-2007, 10:13 AM
Will you be staying at the same rink if you change coaches? This would obviously make things more awkward (but no less need to be polite). Have things gone too far to discuss things with your current coach? I would tend to let the first one know you are leaving before approaching any others but I haven't changed before (apart from when I left to have my kids and came back to skating with a new one!) and it may be that there are no other coaches with spaces in your area so you may find yourself without a coach if you do it that way?

SynchroSk8r114
06-27-2007, 10:25 AM
I made a major coaching switch after being with my old coach for 12 years! Why? Well, I was making limited progress with my doubles and was suffering from serious skating self-esteem issues from being told that I'll "never make it past" this move or that level. In addition to that, my coach just wasn't putting forth the same effort that I was - definitely not a 100/100 relationship. She was almost hoping that we'd leave her because it would make time for younger students, which she felt she could shape into her next Jr. National champions. We were wasting some serious money, and looking back now, I wish I would have switched coaches a lot sooner. Unfortunately, there was that whole comfort level - she was like a step-mom to me, you know?