View Full Version : Is entry level coaching possible near Maryland?

Query
06-19-2007, 11:09 AM
There are no legal certification requirements
for coaches, but near me, rinks expect
coaches to be at a fairly high competitive or
test level.

I like to think I skate with some measure of
grace and speed, and can support an unsteady
skater. I have some teaching experience in another
sport.

I'd love to teach entry level adults.

Is this is a realistic goal? As stated, it isn't
near where I live, but I wonder whether it might
be in less popular places.

I'm an adult male who has tested the first
3 ice dances (USFSA), which is all the skating
skills I need to get PSA certification and PSA
insurance. With a few months hard work I
might perhaps pass the next 2 or 3 dances.
Serious freestyle is out of my league.

Of course it takes a fair bit of time, money
and work to pass the other components
of a PSA test.

For that matter, are PSA cert and insurance
needed at places with lower requirements?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

(Tried post first on rec.sport.skating.ice.recreational; someone suggested this forum would more appropriate.)

Scarlett
06-19-2007, 01:52 PM
If you willing to do Tots and maybe a lower level adult class then possibly. It all depends on the needs of the ice rink. The good news is that for such a small state, Maryland has a very large number of rinks with LTS programs. www.marylandiceskating.com is a good place to start.

Good luck.

phoenix
06-19-2007, 02:27 PM
You should start by asking to work as an apprentice for a group Learn To Skate program. Seriously, you aren't ready to teach private lessons yet. PSA certification level aside (which I have strong objections to), you just don't have the background/experience yet to teach anything but beginning skating.