View Full Version : Do you make your own Skating dress?

FSWer
06-07-2007, 10:35 AM
Say,I was wondering if there's anyone here who actually makes their own Competition or Show dresses?

Clarice
06-07-2007, 10:46 AM
Yeah, I make most of the dresses for myself and my daughter, and sometimes for other skaters at our rink. I'll bet a lot of people on this board do their own sewing.

jazzpants
06-07-2007, 11:25 AM
Sadly, I'm a software engineer... and NOT a dressmaker... for a reason! :twisted: Heaven knows I can design in my mind but get me anywhere near that sewing machine and 8O !!!

The closest I can say that I've done anything with my dress is for me is stoning my own dress. It was only once and it was not a fun job for me b/c it takes so long and it had the potential to be QUITE messy given that my house is already SO messy!!! :lol:

(Speaking of which, thanks for reminding me to start looking for a dress for my FS program... ;) )

TreSk8sAZ
06-07-2007, 12:01 PM
I've tried sewing my own dress, but I don't have the right type of sewing machine, so it was a disaster! But I do crystal all of my own dresses, and any dresses people want to send me (Good, easy way to make money -- Plus it's fun!!!!). The stoning varies with what people have in their mind and the music that they're skating to.

Scarlett
06-07-2007, 12:08 PM
I can't even hem my own pants. I don't go anywhere near my skating dresses.

tidesong
06-07-2007, 01:05 PM
I sew almost all my skating dresses (and I'm a software development engineer too hehehe)

I just start by trial and error mostly, I had an old sewing machine which broke down and eventually I got a new machine from my parents for one of my birthdays and just well I just sewed and unpicked until I figured out what I was doing (and tried to look at leotards and other tops along the way... its a cumulative effort... )

blackmanskating
06-07-2007, 04:30 PM