View Full Version : Encounters with other ice users

Derek
06-06-2007, 04:43 PM
An unpleasant incident occured today, on my last session before my rink closes for up to two weeks for maintenance.

A quiet session, with my daughter, I was concentrating on elements for my next level - the UK passport Bronze. About twenty people total on the ice, very quiet and lovely.

A few lads in hockey boots, fairly competent by observation, one decides I am a target for his skating antics, essentially close weaving etc, something I accept is common practice. Not a real problem, we all avoid each other.

However ... I started practicing spins, near the centre, with my daughter about 4 feet away, observing and giving feedback. This one person cuts through both of us at speed, just as I am pushing into a two foot spin.
Result? He is lifted clean off his feet by my left arm (I rotate clockwise) and wipes out on the ice. He looks ok, a bit shaken, but claimed I did it deliberately, and proceeded to launch a vendetta for the rest of the session (throwing ice, swearing etc). There were no stewards. I noticed that there was a lesson in progress, run by the head coach, and her students were also being 'buzzed' by this group skating between some very young girls.

My quandary ... do I do nothing and hope it blows over ... although I suspect this lad will not forget. Do I report the incident to the rink management and request their advice? Do I discuss with the head coach, again to seek advice? After the incident I received comments from other 'figure' skaters that this is a continuing problem ...

No way do I associate this with genuine hockey lads (or lasses) for which I have considerable respect, but suspect it is linked more with a certain mindset. I am sure this is experienced at rinks everywhere, comments?

doubletoe
06-06-2007, 04:58 PM