View Full Version : Pretty stupid!

teresa
06-06-2007, 04:40 PM
I was working on a skill with my coach today, a skill I thought I understood, and found with a surprise that I had been thinking wrong. I haven't been able to do what she wanted because I wasn't trying to do what she wanted but what I misunderstood instead. I can't tell you how stupid I felt! The scary thing is I might not have even figured it out today except that I had that, "Oh, no feeling" watching her do the skill side by side with me. Then I knew. . . I went to college and I was a pretty good student and yet I screw up on stupid stuff at skating. Some days I just can't believe my brain damage. ugh Please, tell me someone else has done this before. Seriously, I'm worried I do this more than I care to know. =-0

teresa

doubletoe
06-06-2007, 05:12 PM
Lack of eye-brain-body communication is a VERY common learning disability among adult skaters (not to mention beginning kid skaters)! For most of us, trying to simultaneously coordinate our feet, shoulders, edges, hips, knees, etc. to do some supposedly simple move is about as easy as trying to play a series of chords on the piano when you've only just learned where the notes are! Eventually, you figure out some basic concepts that simplify things and make new moves easier to file in your brain, but we all have those blank stare moments from time to time no matter how long we've been doing this! :roll:

P.S. I've found that a lot of times coaches also fail to be specific enough when telling you exactly what to do, and the only solution is to ask the dumb-sounding questions until you force the right answers out of them! ;)

SynchroSk8r114
06-06-2007, 05:30 PM
You're not the only one who has had this experience...:roll: