View Full Version : What is Your Least/Most Favorite Element to Teach & What Has Made it More Bearable?

SynchroSk8r114
06-06-2007, 10:59 AM
Coaches...
As a fellow skating coach, I was just wondering if there are any elements you dread teaching and if there are any tips/techniques that have made teaching these elements more bearable for you and/or easier for you to convey what you want to your students?

On the other hand, are there any elements you love to teach or are very good at teaching? What do you think has contributed to your success in teaching your skaters these elements?

For me, I hate teaching backward edges, esp. to younger/beginning skaters. They can never seem to comprehend the fact that edges are done on, well...edges! :roll: What I typically get are skaters who push back and then slowly drift off into nowhere, unable to get on the correct edge to bring their back edges back to the axis. In time, my students do "get it", but the frustration of waiting for them to understand or be capable of physically doing back edges kill me...:giveup:

On the up side, I really love teaching MIF. This is really ironic because when I was working on passing all my MIF tests, I hated moves. I love them now and think they are so beneficial for skaters, particuarly since figures went out. (Oh, how I miss figures...:cry:) I think part of the reason why I like them so much is because since passing my Senior MIF test back in 2005, I feel more qualified to be teaching knowing that I was a.) able to demonstrate them correctly and b.) knowledgeable in MIF requirements, what judges like, etc.

In addition to MIF, I love making up creative footwork and choreographing programs. It's just so much fun!

CanAmSk8ter
06-08-2007, 12:21 PM