View Full Version : Skater & coach?

chowskates
06-05-2007, 09:39 PM
Hi, for those of you who are skating (and competing) and coaching, how do you juggle your own training and coaching?

I'm just wondering, 'cos I can never find enough time to do all that I want to do.

I sometimes skate in between or after coaching, but that is not ideal because I don't have time to properly warm-up and stretch, and it gives me little time to skate, so I can't really work on much.

Years ago, a friend of mine insisted on skating & coaching at different rinks so that she doesn't skate when her students can see her!

phoenix
06-05-2007, 09:53 PM
A lot of the still-skating coaches I know do that--or skate very early mornings when no one's around. I drive too far to the rink to make separate trips; so the kids see me skate, & hopefully understand that I'm still learning too!

I too had a hard time doing/scheduling both, but finally realized that I *had* to commit time for myself, and make it non-negotiable. So now, If I'm at the rink for 3 hours, one hour of that is my practice, and if the other 2 hours are booked, I'm not available. And I don't apologize for it; it's too important to me to continue my own training.

You have to be firm, it's soooo easy to give up a 1/2 hour here or there for the sake of a student, or to fit in one more lesson, but then you lose all your hard work/lesson money paid out if you can't keep up your own practices.

WeirFan06
06-05-2007, 11:02 PM