View Full Version : Is my foot deformed?

Vonderbach
06-01-2007, 06:00 PM
Hello,

I found this site using Google and I wanted to ask a question. I'm brand new to skating, in fact, this was my second time today. But I have a persistent problem so far. It seems that my left ankle tends to fold inwards on me causing a tremendous amount of pressure on the ball of my foot to keep me balanced. If I didn't know better, I would say that the flat of my foot was not as tall as my ball and heel.

This caused me to give up early and I don't like giving up.

Any thoughts?

froggy
06-01-2007, 06:13 PM
sounds like you may have feet that pronate (like me and many many other people!), I'm not sure what skates you were wearing were they rentals? b/c rentals can position even the best feet in an awkward position, do you always have this problem in other shoes as well? sometimes skaters get their blades remounted and positioned a little bit more towards the big toe tohelp them avoid falling inwards and what we call in skating the inside edge. sometimes orthotics are needed to help you maintain the arch of foot.

with proper fitting skates your feet will be better positioned and you can skate in comfort!

doubletoe
06-01-2007, 06:13 PM
Does this happen in your street shoes or just skates? If only in skates, the problem is probably not your foot but the skate itself. Are these rented skates or your own?
It's possible that the blade is mounted too far to the outside of the boot, or that the boot is broken down and has lost ankle support.

flippet
06-01-2007, 08:11 PM
Sounds to me like you're either using rental skates, or very cheap, sports-store skates. Neither have enough support to make it worth your while. Everyone complains about 'weak ankles', when it's not the ankle, it's the skate.