View Full Version : ISI competitions

Logan3
05-29-2007, 08:01 AM
We are exploring to switching to ISI. How are their competitions? Do you think they are "true" to a recreational level? Any info will be great, thanks!

Petlover
05-29-2007, 11:29 AM
I mostly skate in ISI competitions since they are half the cost of USFSA competitions here in Florida. Both ISI and USFSA have their good points. One thing I really like a lot about ISI is the Interpretative program, where you hear the music 3 times before you skate to it, you have to make up a program between the first time you hear it in warmup and when you skate to it, you cannot watch the skaters who go before you, and you can't have a coach. It's one of those events you either love or hate, but if you enjoy quick choreography, it's really fun!

AshBugg44
05-29-2007, 04:11 PM
As a coach, I greatly prefer ISI for the "basic skills" level students. It is much more encouraging than USFS. There are many more event options, enabling kids to try many different things. I would say about the FS 5 level, when kids get an axel, then it's good to switch to USFS, but I will not have any of my students do USFS basic skills competitions.

SynchroSk8r114
05-29-2007, 05:24 PM
I prefer USFSA competitions, which is what I competed before becoming a coach. Ironically, my students compete ISI (even though they skate USFSA), which has both its ups and downs. For starts, ISI is much more relaxed than USFSA competitions - every child is made to feel special via ribbons and medals awarded through 6th place because the competition level groups are relatively small. Like AshBugg44 mentioned, ISI is good for skaters just starting out, because it offers Tots - Delta in addition to freestyle levels. ISI also offers some interesting events that USFSA competitions do not offer, such as Interpretive/Dramatic/Light Entertainment Spotlights, Family Spotlights, etc.