View Full Version : When to get new skates?

liya_skatergirl
05-03-2007, 07:35 AM
When do you know that it's time to change your skates? My skates are pretty low quality made in Korea, they're not really a known brand. I've been using them only for 4 months, but I don't feel they'll last any longer. Also, for all the teens, especially those who are just beginning... how do you tell your parents that you need new ones? mom and dad don't really understand how things go since I'm all alone when I go to the rink, and mom has only met my coach 3 times...

jskater49
05-03-2007, 08:16 AM
I'm not a teen, a mother of a teen. If my daughter tells me she needs new skates, I buy her new skates, in consultation with her coach. You, your coach and your parents need to sit down and have a frank discussion about how expensive skating is. You may not be able to afford everything you would like for skating, like lessons and ice time. But you really cannot compromise with skates. You must have good skates. We were lucky for a long time we were in a club and were able to buy used skates others had outgrown before they were broken down. You could check that out. But you really need your coach's advise about what kind of skates you need for where you are in your skating.

You need to show your parents that this is important enough to you that you will make other sacrifices and do without other things kids your age have so that you can skate.

Good luck

j

Isk8NYC
05-03-2007, 08:28 AM
You need to show your parents that this is important enough to you that you will make other sacrifices and do without other things kids your age have so that you can skate.
You can cheap out on skating clothes, ice time, even lessons, but jskater's absolutely correct: skates are the one thing you SHOULDN'T skimp on in skating. You don't need top-of-the-line (and wallet) skates, but good, quality skates are necessary. If they're too tight on your feet, it's time for new skates before you get hurt.