View Full Version : How is a Synchro. Team's uniform disided apon?

FSWer
04-14-2007, 10:11 PM
Say,how are the uniforms of a Synchronized Skating Team desided apon, and what do they go by when choosing the disine and colors?

BuggieMom
04-15-2007, 06:59 AM
I am a dress designer, and recently, I did the dresses for the Notre Dame synchro team. What we did was the coach sent me the music, and shared any ideas about color/design/feel with me. Then I sat down and listened to the music (...over and over and over...!) and came up with an idea. What I go by when designing a dress is the theme of the music (in this case it was "Haunted") and the "character" it creates in my head. I just kind sketch while I listen, see what the music evokes in me. There really is no set formula for dress design, be it syncro or freestyle. For me, colors are just chosen because they look and feel like the music, design can be taken from the music itself. For example, the ND music had some Edward Scissorhands in it...what comes to mind? Black leather or vinyl! There's part of your design.
Thats just how MY process works...I'm sure others have their own ways.
HTH
BuggieMom

FSWer
04-15-2007, 10:07 AM