View Full Version : My first competition!

Sessy
04-14-2007, 03:58 AM
Teehee! Well first of all, yesterday there wasn't just a competition, there was a test as well. Which I passed! You could get a maximum of 14 points, you needed 12 to pass, I got 13,5 points. I missed a half a point on my salchow, which is my worst jump even though it improved tons since I started practicing the axel, but nonetheless that jump is awful. The other jumps all went very well for the test. My spin wasn't centered, but it doesn't list in the test requirements that it should be centered yet. I skated very typical of the way I generally skate, not better nor worse than I skate in practice. Even though I had cramp in my foot. :x

Now as for my first competition... Mom filmed both the warming up and the competition, so video's will follow once I get the cd from her.

Well the warming up went very good. Except I couldn't land the flip clean in my warming up so I decided I'd try the flip if the loop would work in programme, otherwise just do a really BIG waltz jump. Generally, if the loop doesn't work for me, the flip won't either.

The BIG MOMENT however... Well. I got cramp in my bielman spiral, and because I was too stubborn to let go, I went and did a bellyflop over my toepicks, landing on my ribs and hipbones. Both my ribs and hipbones are now missing bits of skin from. They're also blue. They also hurt terribly yesterday and I couldn't really breathe.
So right after this spiral, I had powerpulls and a lunge and a loop and a scratch spin in a row. And I couldn't breathe. Well I did the powerpulls really well, the lunge didn't go as deep as it should, I couldn't set up properly for the loop because of pain in my ribs so I fell there too, and I did a pretty bad scratch spin, but at least, I didn't fall on that one.