View Full Version : ouch.

ic3ang3l
03-27-2007, 10:01 PM
i dislocated my knee about 5 weeks ago and am just starting physical therapy.
does anyone know how long it might take before i could skate again, and will i be able to do stuff like sit spins?

tidesong
03-28-2007, 12:19 AM
Skaters come back from injuries very often because we seem to get injured all the time... but you have to make sure you heal well. I am not a doctor so what does your doctor/physical therapist say about the knee? Best to stay safe, rest the knee, follow their advice, and do what you need to make sure it heals well.

I'd say that a good measure is that when you can do the sit spin position on land without hesitation and pain, then its good for the ice.

Sessy
03-28-2007, 02:12 AM
Yes but the sitting position on land is apparently more strainful for your knees than on ice. A skating friend of mine busted her knees (something inside chipped, a covering layer of semi-bone, I don't know how it's called in English) and her doctor told her not to do sit positions on land.

Remember that this is one instance where the slower you go, the further you get. Take all the time of the world to heal.

cathrl
03-28-2007, 05:34 AM
Make sure you ask your doctor/physio.

Some knee injuries need rest, and some need lots of activity to build up the muscle strength and keep it from going stiff.

I used to get some very odd looks from people when (following medical instruction) I encouraged my daughter to keep skating after she came over and told me her knee had gone numb / was hurting a bit.

sue123
03-28-2007, 07:54 AM