View Full Version : Yoga

Ice Dancer
03-26-2007, 07:39 AM
I am not the worlds most flexible person, and I know this is going to hinder my skating in a few months time, so I have been considering Yoga.

I have been looking at classes in the area, and I can not find any reasonably priced, or at a time which fits in with my skating. Grrr!

Anyway, I have come across on amazon some very reasonably priced Yoga DVDs. Does anyone use these? If so, have you noticed an increase in your flexibility? Would you recommend them, or would I really be better off paying the extra for a class? I have never done Yoga before.

Any insight would be great.

Isk8NYC
03-26-2007, 07:58 AM
Start with a live instructor. Same goes for any exercise program: Yoga, Pilates, Aerobics, Weights. You need an instructor to look at you and make sure you're doing the exercises properly. This will prevent injuries and help you progress faster. Once you've mastered the basics, the recordings are great for continuing your program.

Sk8Dreamer
03-26-2007, 08:32 AM
I am not the worlds most flexible person, and I know this is going to hinder my skating in a few months time, so I have been considering Yoga.

I have been looking at classes in the area, and I can not find any reasonably priced, or at a time which fits in with my skating. Grrr!

Anyway, I have come across on amazon some very reasonably priced Yoga DVDs. Does anyone use these? If so, have you noticed an increase in your flexibility? Would you recommend them, or would I really be better off paying the extra for a class? I have never done Yoga before.

Any insight would be great.