Isk8NYC
03-21-2007, 02:02 PM
When you're jumping, what factors affect:

Height

and/or

Distance

newskaker5
03-21-2007, 03:04 PM
Well I am no expert since I havent been skating very long - I have up thru the lutz. According to my instructors I have great "spring" to my jumps and get good height. My distance isn't the greatest except for the loop where I travel pretty far.

i find my knee bend as well as not leaning forward (on toe jumps) incrases my height. Speed seems to help my distance, of cource leaning forward on the take off also does not help distance haha

techskater
03-21-2007, 03:16 PM
Knee bend, ankle bend, natural spring, and openness of the jump affect height and distance.

Isk8NYC
03-21-2007, 03:23 PM
Knee bend, ankle bend, natural spring, and openness of the jump affect height and distance.True, but which affect height and which affect distance?

dbny
03-21-2007, 04:01 PM
In the height vs. distance equation, isn't trajectory the determining factor? In that case, I would think use of the free leg is crucial, along with jumping on a tangent to your edge rather than into it (the circle it describes). I'm sure someone else can elaborate.

Mrs Redboots
03-21-2007, 06:20 PM
I know it's knee-bend and speed into the jump, but I'm not sure which affects what, as I jump very little. It's to do with turning horizontal motion into vertical motion, rather like high-jumpers do, but that's not something I've ever been able either to understand or emulate.

Mercedeslove
03-21-2007, 07:35 PM
i have neither. Apparently I lose.

Emberchyld
03-21-2007, 07:45 PM
In the height vs. distance equation, isn't trajectory the determining factor? In that case, I would think use of the free leg is crucial, along with jumping on a tangent to your edge rather than into it (the circle it describes). I'm sure someone else can elaborate.