View Full Version : Skating lawyers

edgygirl
03-20-2007, 06:28 PM
Lately, while browsing through the posts, I've come across so many law students and lawyers. I was kind of hoping to get us all together on one thread. I'm very curious to see how many are on here.

I've been practicing for about five years now as a public defender. I've only been skating for just short of a year. I handle some pretty serious cases and always wonder how my clients would react if they knew that I was wearing skating tights under my suit so that I don't have to waste time once I get to the rink. Or if they were to see my in my skating skirt and legwarmers. My coworkers seem to think my skating is hilarious. I don't think my clients would be quite as amused.

Generally, I'm able to make time for skating. The only exception is when I'm in trial. Unfortunately, that's also the time I really need the stress relief, so it sucks that I can't get to the rink. We had an outdoor rink near my office during the winter and it was great to run there during lunch or after work. I'm the only figure skater in the office, but we do have several hockey players who were more than willing to come out and skate with me. Right now, I'm pleading with my boss to transfer me to a courthouse that is next to a small rink. I think he's a little afraid that I might not be able to focus... and he might just be right!

By the way, the little girls at my rink love to ask about my job. They sometimes point me out to their friends and say "she's a lawyer and she works with criminals!" Not really the way I like to describe my job, but they find it fascinating.

It's an odd combo, but so far it has worked for me. I have pretty good hours. However, my friends at firms do work some crazy hours and I don't think they really have a lot of spare time. Any other skating lawyers (or law students)? How does it work out for you?

Sessy
03-20-2007, 06:38 PM