View Full Version : Directions

Luckster013
12-17-2006, 04:01 PM
A few weeks ago i started learning scratch spins, going to the right, because that is the way i did my two foot spins. They started out pertty good, but the more i practiced the worse they got. One day i did one in the other direction and it was so much better, so my coach had me change the dirction of everything else, so i could spin that way. The spins in that direction haven't gotten much better or worse, but then yesterday i did one the way I used to and that one was way better. Which way an I supposed to go? I'm left handed, so would that have anything to do with it? Has this happened to anyone else?

sue123
12-17-2006, 04:30 PM
I believe traditionally, if you're left handed, that normally makes you a CW skates, so when you spin, you go to the right, clockwise. Of course, there are exceptions to every rule. For me, I'm a mix of both, when I'm spinning and jumping, I go CCW, but when I do crossovers or 3-turns, it's easier for me to go in the direction that would come easier to CW skaters.

But spinning and jumping wise, pick the direction that feels most natural and go with that. Spins for me at least tend to come and go, one day they're just not htere, the next, I feel like I could spin forever. They must be tempermental.

badaxel
12-17-2006, 04:40 PM