View Full Version : Private Lesson Handout

Isk8NYC
12-06-2006, 10:53 AM
In another thread, we were discussing how skaters/parents are informed about matters such as changing coaches, cancelling lessons, etc. The subject of a rink/coach handout came up as a suggestion. Skittl recommended starting a new thread.

Let's say you're a private lesson student.
What information should be in a handout given to you by the rink or coach?

Isk8NYC
12-06-2006, 10:55 AM
This is Skittle1321's ideas (copied from other thread):
Seems like that should be a new thread! Some ideas- not being a coach, I don't know what exactly would be practical- and in hindsight, it appears I'm writing a newsletter, not a handout :)

I would say
1) Expectations of parents- get your skater there one time, pay on time (as well as your payment expectations- monthly, before each lesson, one week in advance...- I would not put the rate on there because I know many coaches who give some people price breaks per personal agreements), cancelation policy

2) Expectations for skaters- always try, focus on the lesson, do they need to have a skaters notebook at the lesson (my coach charges a quarter if we forget), do you expect them to be in a skirt/tights,

3)Make up lesson policy

4) Professional Courtesy. "If you choose to take lessons from another coach, please inform me before the lessons begin. If you are currently taking lessons from another coach, please inform them before you begin lessons with me"

5)Rink Etiquette (What the heck is a lutz corner? Don't park on a circle, right of way expectations- do those apply during public sessions?)

6) Competition policy- do you go with your students? How much do you charge? do you make tapes? ISI or USFSA?