View Full Version : lutz confusion

looplover
11-27-2006, 07:21 PM
I'm just starting to learn this one. I have the Sports Illustrated Petkevitch book and it says this:

"To initiate the lift-off, place the right toe pick in the ice and spring from the left leg."

But, how can you have your weight on both legs and go anywhere?! Or does that mean that your weight should in fact be on the right toe pick?

I like edge jumps better!

MQSeries
11-27-2006, 07:51 PM
Maybe it was a typo, or the author had a different image in his mind than what that sentence implied, but you have to shift your weight over to the toe-picking leg (the right leg for CCW jumper) as it's placed into the ice. You spring up from the toe-picking leg.

dbny
11-27-2006, 08:28 PM
You can't spring from a leg that isn't bent. You spring from the edge foot, with a toe assist. If you didn't need the energy stored in that bent knee to spring, then you could do the jump from a straight leg.

looplover
11-27-2006, 08:57 PM
yikes that's one for jumping off the picking foot and one for jumping off the edge foot

I feel like if I jump off (spring off) the left foot I have no idea how my right tow is assisting? if I jump off hte left foot and plant my right toe in the ice, am I not just driving my left foot back into the ice?

This can't be as confusing as I'm making it out to be :frus:

Clarice
11-27-2006, 09:06 PM
You jump off the edge foot, with a toe assist. The toe assists in a lutz the same way it does in a flip - you're just on a different takeoff edge.

looplover
11-27-2006, 09:29 PM
oh crap.

Does that mean I've been doing the flip wrong too?

Cuz I transfer my weight to the picking foot and take off from the picking toe.