View Full Version : Big Toe Pain

lovepairs
11-19-2006, 11:46 AM
While we are on the subject of feet and pain, I was wondering if anyone has ever had this:

This just started with me about a 1/2 year ago (I've been skating for over 20 years and never had this.) I can skate for two hours and am perfectly fine. About three hours after I skate, I feel like someone is taking knives and shoving them in my big toe. Sometimes it's just one toe, sometimes it's both.

At first I thought I was having "tight bite." You know thats when the seem of the tights on the foot is pushing up against the tip of your toes. So, I rotate the seem underneath my toes, but it hasn't solved this problem.

Does anyone else out there have this, or is it just me???8O

Mrs Redboots
11-19-2006, 02:24 PM
Could you have ingrowing toenails?

I know when mine start hurting, it's time to cut my toenails.... but I don't actually have ingrowing toenails these days.

dbny
11-19-2006, 03:11 PM
I have something similar that may be related to how tight my boot is over the mid foot area. The toes on my left foot start to feel very cold and painful, almost a burning sensation. I think it's a circulation or nerve problem.

Morgail
11-19-2006, 03:23 PM
I tend to get some pain in the big joint under my big toes if I skate too long (over 2 hours for me)...but not actually in the toe. Doesn't sound like fun:(

lovepairs
11-20-2006, 02:34 PM
DBNY,

That's exactly what it is--a burning sensation at the top of my big toes! I don't have any ingrown toe nails, so now I have to think it is a circulation problem. Should I tie the area around my toes looser?

icedancer2
11-20-2006, 06:34 PM
My big toes hurt if I am feeling kind of not "into" the ice or if I need a sharpening -- but for me it's less like a stabbing pain and more of an ache. I often feel like I am "holding on" and gripping with my big toes. I have noticed this more as I approached and turned 50 than before.